Not so much a bad beat as just really frustrating.
$1-$3 at the Horseshoe. Min-raise from early position to $6. 3 callers. I look down at 55 and call. 5 of us to the flop.
Pot : $34
Flop : K K 10 rainbow. Original raiser opens for $6 and all 3 players call. I have position and decide that I'm going to call the $6 as I'm getting 9 to 1 on my money.
Pot : $64
Turn : 4 of spades. Puts the 2nd spade on the board. Original raiser bets $6 again. This guy has a junk hand. PP at best. He's more than willing to fold to a squeeze. All 3 players again just smooth call. No one seems willing to take this pot, so I take control and raise to $40. The original raiser folds, and 1 player makes the call. I have him on a wide range of hands. He could be calling with JQ open ended. He could also have just picked up a spade draw. I feel like he actually has some kind of weak suited K, and is not in love with his hand, but can't fold either.
Pot : $162
River : Ace of spades. Player stares me down for a moment and then checks. I know he hated that card. Perhaps he has me on a spade or open ended draw. That card fills either one of those hands. This player only has another $55 behind him and if he was willing to go all in, he would have done it already. So I bet $40. He adds up the $40 in chips and plays with them for a bit. He then sighs, leaves his chips behind the betting line, doesn't say a word, and tosses his cards face up onto the table passed the betting line. He shows me K9 off. I instantly show him my 55 bluff and the dealer gets ready to push him the pot. I stop her immediatly and ask what she's doing.
She says that he was calling and has the better hand, hence winning the pot. I argue that he never pushed his chips out, never said call, and then mucked his cards face up. I explain to her that I only turned my cards over immediatly because I was showing the bluff, not because I thought he was calling. I explain that if I thought he was calling I would muck.
She calls the floor over and the dealer explains the situation to the floor person. He sees both hands turned face up with the 40 in chips counted out behind the betting line. He rules that this player was INTENDING to call, but didn't do it properly. They give him a warning and explain what he needs to do to make a proper call next time. I then come unglued.
I try to explain to the floor person that he DID NOT intend to call, and he was folding his hand. He tries to tell me that there is no way this guy is folding trip K's. I argue on and on and on, but it's pointless. They've already pushed him the pot, but I intend to make my point. I step away from the table and explain to the floor person that he didn't see the way the hand played out. I tell him the play I was making, and that I had this guy properly squeezed and bluffed, but he just tells me his decision is final.
Ugh. I know it's final, dude has the chips already. Next time just freaking hear me out before you go pushing a $242 pot to some goon who got out played but got a lucky floor ruling after he had mucked.
Welcome to PokerForums.org
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Thread: Floor Ruling
June 11th, 2009 #1
June 11th, 2009 #2
- Join Date
- Oct 2008
- Durham, NC
- PFO Points
June 11th, 2009 #3
Dude thats retarded.
June 11th, 2009 #4
that should be as much the villians concience as the dealers knowledge of the game. tough break
June 11th, 2009 #5
if i was the floor i'd ship villiain the pot because your name is WALLACE
June 12th, 2009 #6
I think I played a bit steamed off this tonight yet. When I ran the scenario by a few of the dealers and another floor person, they said that regardless if the villians hand was "tabled" face up, he never said call nor did he commit chips to the pot, declaring that it's a dead hand.
Being re-affirmed over and over by others involved in that room only makes me more mad about the ruling because I know I was in the right.
June 12th, 2009 #7
I honestly wouldnt expect anyone to fold trips to a 1/4 pot bet with only a 3flush on the board, and them having the 3rd nut trips.
I wouldn't expect live players to be folding for a double pot bet. I can see where the floor is coming from. However if he didn't get his money in, didn't say call then I think it's safely accepted it's a fold.
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)