Sorel Mizzi joins the list of Party Poker Premier League Champions

sorel-mizzi2For the first time in its history the Party Poker Premier League took place outside of Europe, as 12 of the best poker players in the game each put-up $125,000 and descended on the Playground Poker Club in Montreal, Canada to take part in the Party Poker Premier League VII.

The first Premier League in Canada also proved to be the first Premier League won by a Canadian as Sorel Mizzi took home the top prize of over $400k.

Here’s how the multi-day round-robin tournament played out.

The Premier League’s new format

The Premier League VII maintained the “heats” format from previous years, but unlike in previous years –where the Premier League invited 16 players and split them into two groups of eight—this time around the players were kept in a single group, with each player participating in four 8-man heats.

The Top 4 point getters during the “Heat” stage would advance to the final table, the bottom four finishers would be eliminated, and the middle four players would square-off in heads up matches for the final two spots.

The Competitors

The roster for the Party Poker Premier League Vii was in a constant state of flux, but in the end they managed to use duct tape and bungee cords and put together a 12 player roster:

* Dan Colman

* Jeff Gross

* Sorel Mizzi

* Brian Rast

* Jason Koon

* Jonathan Duhamel

* Scott Seiver

* Daniel Cates

* Antonio Esfandiari

* Phil Laak

* Dan Shak

* Vanessa Selbst

Heat Winners and the Final Table qualifiers

While winning a heat didn’t mean you would end up at the final table it did go a long way, and as fate would have it every player at the final table was a Heat winner.

* Heat 1: Jeff Gross

* Heat 2: Jason Koon

* Heat 3: Sorel Mizzi

* Heat 4: Dan Colman

* Heat 5: Brian Rast

* Heat 6: Scott Seiver

Based on points Colman, Gross, Mizzi, and Rast automatically advanced to the final table, and were joined by Scott Seiver (who defeated Jonathan Duhamel) and Jason Koon (who bested Daniel Cates).

The Final Table and Payouts

The final table belonged to Sorel Mizzi, as the Canadian emerged triumphant on his home turf, adding a Premier League victory to his ever-growing resume. It wasn’t exactly an easy path though, as Mizzi nearly lost to Jeff Gross during heads-up play after beginning the match with a 9-1 chip-lead!

Every participant received some amount of prize money based on the number of points they earned during Heat play, but considering the buy-in for the tournament was $125,000 only four players ended up in the black and fourth place finisher Scott Seiver did so by only $5,000.

1. Sorel Mizzi — $466,000

2. Jeff Gross — $274,000

3. Dan Colman — $194,000

4. Scott Seiver — $130,000

5. Jason Koon — $118,000

6. Brian Rast — $102,000

7. Jonathan Duhamel — $52,000

8. Daniel Cates — $48,000

9. Antonio Esfandiari — $40,000

10. Phil Laak — $38,000

11. Dan Shak — $20,000

12. Vanessa Selbst — $18,000

Sorel Mizzi

Mizzi is a fairly polarizing figure in the poker community, with more than his fair share of controversies in his past to go along with a pretty impressive poker resume.

In addition to his online achievements, Mizzi was the 2010 Bluff Magazine Player of the Year, he has over $8.5 million in live tournament earnings, and ranks 3rd on Canada’s all-time tournament list according to his Hendon Mob database.

Most of his big scores have come in high-buy-in small-filed tournaments like the Premier League, with four of his top five cashes coming in high-roller and super-high-roller tournaments, except for a 3rd place finish in the 2010 Aussie Millions Main Event.

Party Poker Premier League Champions

It’s an impressive list that Sorel Mizzi will join to say the least, and needless to say there aren’t going to be any unknowns winning the Premier League, thanks to the buy-in and structure of the tournament.

* Premier League I: Juha Helppi

* Premier League II: Andy Black

* Premier League III: JC Tran

* Premier League IV: David Benyamine

* Premier League V: Scott Seiver

* Premier League VI: Dan Shak

* Premier League VII: Sorel Mizzi

For more coverage of the Party Poker Premier League VII you can visit the Party Poker website.


Relevant news