Nominations for 2018 Poker Hall of Fame is now open

The nomination process for this years Poker Hall of Fame has just started, this lets fans of poker to make suggestions on who they think should be considered for inclusion.

All you need to nominate is an email. This however, means if you have more than one email you can nominate more than one poker player, which might mean it can be manipulated slightly, but usually the final decision will come down to a panel of poker expects. Which should hopefully stop any untrue results.

If you are looking to nominate their is a few things you need to do and a few things you need to take into consideration:

First you will need to visit the official WSOP website where you can nominate you pick for inclusion in this years Poker Hall of Fame. Before you submit your pick of poker player you then need to make sure they meet the criteria to be selected:

  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Stood the test of time
  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

When the nomination period is over, a group of expects will usually take the top 10 most nominated, (they are known to sometimes change a couple of names if they belief the public have made a mistake, or overlooked someone), they then pass on the top ten to a further panel which then starts the selection process in picking the players to be selected for inclusion and be added into the history books by entering the Poker Hall of Fame.

Notable Hall of Fame inclusions

1979 – Johnny Moss: Believed to be the first player included in the Poker Hall of Fame.

1979 – James Butler Hickok:  Better known as Wild Bill Hickok. After being shot in the back holding 2 Aces and 2 Eights, the hand would become to be known as ‘Dead Mans Hand’.

1980 – Blodie Forbes: Credited with creating the game of Texas Holdem.

1988 – Doyles Brunson: The original OG. This Living Legend is also known for writing ‘Super System’, which is believed to be the most influential poker book written to date.

1990 – Benny Binion: Founder of the WSOP

1991 – David Reese: Better known as Chip Reese. Chip is the youngest player ever included when he was inducted into the HOF at the age of 40.

2001 – Stu Ungar: One of only 2 players to win back to back main events.

2002 – Johnny Chan: One of the only 4 players to have won 10 or more WSOP bracelets.

2007 – Phil Hellmuth: Was the youngest ever WSOP winner from 1989 – 2008. Hellmuth is the record holder for most WSOP Cashes, Most WSOP Final Tables and Most WSOP Bracelets.

2014 – Daniel Negreanu: Kid Poker is probably the most well known poker player on the planet, as well as being no.1 on the all time winnings leaderboard.

2017 – Phil Ivey: One of the few to have 10 or more WSOP bracelets. Also believed to be the best poker player in the World by a large majority of the poker community.

10 Suggestions for 2018 Poker Hall of Fame

We have through together of 10 poker players that could be considered in this years Poker Hall of Fame. (We didn’t do too much research so apologise if we meet anyone. But pop over to our Poker Forum to let us know your choices).

  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Andre Akkari
  • Gus Hanson
  • Joe Hachem
  • Allen Cunningham
  • Chris Moneymaker
  • JC Tran
  • Annie Duke
  • Marcel Luske
  • Jamie Gold

Relevant news