Welcome to PokerForums.org

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Private
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    PFO Points
    3

    Default Question about NL Hold Em

    I was just wondering when a person goes all in, what happens after that? I'm a bit confused because I know once everyone calls your bet, then there's a side pot, and how are those winnings settled?

  2. #2
    Mobster Emeritus Marm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    10,066
    PFO Points
    23825

    Default

    OKay example:

    PLayer A has 100 chips
    Player B has 200 Chips
    PLayer C has 300 chips.

    Pre-flop, PLayer a pushes in, and both B & C call. That means there are 300 chips in the MAIN pot, with no side pot.

    On the flop, PLayer B bets 50 chips, Player C calls. There is now 300 chips in the main pot, and 100 chips in the SIDE pot.

    ON the turn PLayer goes all-in for his remaining 50 chips, and again C calls. Now there is 300 chips in the MAIN pot and 200 chips in the SIDE pot.

    There can be no more betting action on the River since only C has chips left.

    Now, First you determine between B & C who wins, the winner gets the 200 chip SIDE pot. Then out of the 3 players You determine who wins the 300 chip MAIN pot. PLayer A has no stake in the 200 chip SIDE pot so he cannot win any of it, He can only win what is in the MAIN pot.

    If player B beats C, he wins the Side pot. But if player A can then beat B, player A wins the Main pot. The chips stacks would then be A: 300, B: 200, c: 100.

    But if C beats B and C Beats A, then he gets everything.
    Luck is a Residue of Design.

  3. #3
    Private
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    PFO Points
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marm
    OKay example:

    PLayer A has 100 chips
    Player B has 200 Chips
    PLayer C has 300 chips.

    Pre-flop, PLayer a pushes in, and both B & C call. That means there are 300 chips in the MAIN pot, with no side pot.

    On the flop, PLayer B bets 50 chips, Player C calls. There is now 300 chips in the main pot, and 100 chips in the SIDE pot.

    ON the turn PLayer goes all-in for his remaining 50 chips, and again C calls. Now there is 300 chips in the MAIN pot and 200 chips in the SIDE pot.

    There can be no more betting action on the River since only C has chips left.

    Now, First you determine between B & C who wins, the winner gets the 200 chip SIDE pot. Then out of the 3 players You determine who wins the 300 chip MAIN pot. PLayer A has no stake in the 200 chip SIDE pot so he cannot win any of it, He can only win what is in the MAIN pot.

    If player B beats C, he wins the Side pot. But if player A can then beat B, player A wins the Main pot. The chips stacks would then be A: 300, B: 200, c: 100.

    But if C beats B and C Beats A, then he gets everything.
    Alright, that was a good example except for when player B goes all in. when he did that, would'nt that be another pot, or am I just mixing things up?

  4. #4
    2nd Lieutenant missy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    l.a. county
    Posts
    906
    PFO Points
    906

    Default

    no, just one side pot in this example.

    the main pot is between players a, b, and c, since they all have money in it.

    the side pot is just between players b and c. player a has all of his money in the main pot, so he's not in it, and player b puts all of his into the side pot on the river. player c matches this in the side pot and is left with some in front of him.

    i hope that clarifies it.

  5. #5
    Private
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    PFO Points
    3

    Default

    it does, thanks.

  6. #6
    Captain poker player 100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    1,435
    PFO Points
    1498

    Default

    IT can get confusing becuz of the Sidepot.
    If theres a side pot just dont let it confuse u
    Poker

    NBA

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •