7 players left
I have 42K (2nd in chips)
Button have 39K
I'm on BB With AKo
MP raise 7K and is all in
I call (do you raise?)
I Bet 12K
Button call ????
Button is AI
What do you do?
Welcome to PokerForums.org
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Thread: AK hand on BB
December 22nd, 2005 #1
AK hand on BB
December 22nd, 2005 #2
December 22nd, 2005 #3
I honestly feel that you dont have any choice but to call. I dont know if you raise on the flop, you prolly have the best hand but sometimes its better to check it down with the other guy if you can so you dont push him out if he still has the guy all in beat, ya know? Just so the chance of him getting eliminated is twice as good. But like I said you prolly have the best hand so you can most likely take one out and severely cripple the other.
December 22nd, 2005 #4
yeah call this.. this guy probably got A10, AJ or AQ
probably A 10 tho, since this guy didnt raise u on the flop.
before the flop tho, i dont re-raise, just call.. good play..
on the flop tho, i may consider check-raising with ur AK tho
December 23rd, 2005 #5
I agree with call his all in. Only thing he could have had that'd beat you was AA or KK. Seeing as there are now 2 A's and 2 K's accounted for(hand and board) thats unlikely.
December 24th, 2005 #6
- Join Date
- Jul 2005
- PFO Points
I'd probably call also... but I'd expect him to show me 44 or 66.-You may not know this, but poker is a game of incomplete information.
December 24th, 2005 #7
Eclispe....I would hate a check raise attempt here. There is too much of a chance that he will think you are "cooperating" and check behind you. I am value betting here and seeing if I can get him to put some more money in the pot. I am ahead the whole way here and am trying to maximize this pot.
The 1st guy all in has a minimal stack. My target is the button so I like the call pre-flop hoping to catch a favorable flop (which you did). If I miss the flop I move into cooperation play mode and hope the button is on same wave length.
December 24th, 2005 #8
This is a tough one. People often get pissed off when you don't cooperate with them at a final table to eliminate another player, and will often then try and take the pot away from you (even if they lose to the SS, they'll still pick up your bets and make a profit).
Here's your dilemma when betting this pot: If he's got a set, you're dead meat and pretty much out of the tourney. Why take the risk when you're doing well and have a chance to move up into the serious money (typically, the serious money starts between 5th - 3rd place). I know this seems ludicrous, but I think you need to be happy just to take the pot down by checking it down.
It hurts to watch a top two pair get checked all the way down, but I think you're most of the time you're getting called by a better hand (unless he has AK). I know this seems exceptionally conservative, but you've worked so hard to get here, don't piss it away on one hand like this.
I think in retrospect, I reraise the button PF and either end up heads up with a lot of dead money (likely against a smaller ace) against the SS, or then we play this one for real.
Last edited by Jason75; December 24th, 2005 at 09:52 AM.
December 25th, 2005 #9
I would have raise allin preflop but in your situation you have to call his allin on the turn.
December 26th, 2005 #10
Well my plan was to check raise the turn...
But when he went AI, I suddently put him on 44 or 66... sounded relevent considering he did'nt try to isolate PF and he slow played the flop.
I had honestly near no choice to call... 1st, I could have been wrong, and also I still had a few outs... nothing to justify the call by its own, but pot odds and the fact I could be facing a stone cold bluff.... the side pot was at 24K after all...
He shown 66 and took the huge pot down, virtualy killing me for the 6th spot...
Makes me sick cause the great $$$ was 1 spot away... and top 3 was really nice...
Any way... I guess my mistake was PF...
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)