For arguments sake, lets say it's heads up and I know 100% my opponent has Bigslick or 2 high cards. Am I correct to call his all-in bet early in a tournament with a medium pocket pair?
I ask because I have been in this situation numerous times, been correct about my opponent's hand, and have lost either on the flop, turn, or river a large percentage of the time knocking me out early in the tournament.
I'm questioning myself even after looking up the odds showing my hand to be a small favorite before the flop. Any advice?
Welcome to PokerForums.org
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Thread: Preflop Heads-Up Question
July 28th, 2007 #1
Preflop Heads-Up Question
July 28th, 2007 #2
Depends on the type of tournament, pub poker yes. Online in a tournament with realistic blinds then nah, don't be flipping coins for your tournament life. Wait for a better spot to be outplaying people post flop.
July 28th, 2007 #3
late in a tournament yes.
care to explain how you know ppl's hole cards?I get more ass than a toilet seat. All shapes/colors/sizes.
July 28th, 2007 #4
Thanks, and in regards to knowing opponents hole cards of course I don't know all the time but when you play regularly in a small tournament with a lot of the same players it becomes easier to get it right. One player almost never raises with pocket pairs (when I'm able to see a lay-down or they like to show their cards a lot then it's confirmed), but loves to raise all-in with Ace/any face card.
I'm sure you have got the feel for players you play with regularly. Also this a $1 tournament with an average of 30 players. Not one for the pros. By my statement I was trying to eliminate the "what if I'm wrong about their hole cards" to get straight to my question.
July 28th, 2007 #5
depends on the structure of the tournament and the stack sizes and skill levels of all players involved.
i personally would call just to keep things moving along quickly for the sake of my hourly win rate, but that's b/c i'm a grinder4lyfe.
July 28th, 2007 #6
- Join Date
- May 2007
- PFO Points
the answer is sometimes depending on your chip stack, his stack, if you can or cannot outplay him without needind luck
July 29th, 2007 #7
- Join Date
- Dec 2004
- PFO Points
depends how early, your skill level vs his, etc
you can also never be sure he is not on high cards his range has to include pairs as well that may have you crushed so that should be taken into consideration as well.
July 29th, 2007 #8
If you know his hole cards and have no edge than it's a call
If you're much better than the rest, you should fold.
July 29th, 2007 #9
this question is vary vague. we need to know what type of tournament, the amount of players, size of stacks (i know you said early, but that can mean within the first hour for all we know)
i guess what this really comes down to is if you wanna race that early on in a tournament.
personally i throw away low-mid pp early on the tournament because doubling early isnt as important as doubling later.
its up to you if you want to race, but that dosent mean you will win 50 percent of the time every OTHER time. ive gone 10-20 tourneys racing with pp against overs and losing EVERYTIME. i have also gone times where i win races frequently too.
its up to you.AsuitedKing: justify the call
EhRa: he hits his set und waited that i hitz something and he dindt play he only goes allin
EhRa: tahts a big donk ... so ****
July 29th, 2007 #10
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)