|

05-21-2007, 06:24 AM
|
 |
Mike McDermott
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 4,657
Limits Played: $2-$4 NL
|
|
Worst Scam Ever?
I recieve this email today, some bullshit about winning a lottery. Check the email address! LOL. I am sure the official British National Lottery could never afford to register tiier own domain but instead choose to use yahoo.
Mr. Ashley Baker
Fiduciary Agent
Email Address:baker_ashley_bnl@yahoo.co.uk
We happily announce to you the draw (#471) of the BRITISH NATIONAL LOTTERY
(online
program), held recently. Your e-mail address attached to an electronic ticket
number: 56475600545 which was assigned to your e-mail address with Serial number
5368/02 drew the lucky numbers:01 25 26 27 39 49 (bonus no.), which subsequently
won you the lottery in the 2nd category i.e match 5 plus bonus.
You have therefore been approved to claim a total sum of £250,000 (Two Hundred
And Fifty
Thousand Pounds Sterling) in cash credited to file KTU/9023118308/03. This is
from a total cash prize of £1,000,000 shared amongst the first four (4) lucky
winners in this category i.e Match 5 plus bonus.
Please note that your lucky number falls within our European booklet
representative office in Europe as indicated in your play coupon (5647560054).
In view of this, your £250,000 (Two Hundred And Fifty thousand pounds sterling)
would be released to you by any of our payment offices in Europe. Our European
agent will immediately commence the process to facilitate the release of your
funds as soon as you contact him.
To file for your claim, please contact our fiduciary agent and provide him with
the information below:
Name:
Address:
Marital Status :
Occupation :
Age:
Sex:
Nationality:
Country of residence:
Telephone number:
Cell phone number:
Fax number:
Draw number above:
Email address:
|
| Sponsored Links |
|

05-21-2007, 06:32 AM
|
 |
Poker Hustler
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,191
|
|
That is a little strange. Do you even play the online lotteries in the UK?
|

05-21-2007, 08:48 AM
|
 |
Check Raiser
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 542
|
|
This isn't very well thought out. Why would they want your marital status, and why would you need to give the guy your email as they already have it? Also as they don't ask for any bank account numbers I am assuming that the "fiduciary agent" will require some sort of commission paid up front.
|

05-21-2007, 10:42 AM
|
 |
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 6,497
Limits Played: $0.50-$1 NL
|
|
LOL
I'm sure there are plenty of people in the UK who fall for this kind of thing, even though it's not called the British National Lottery and you don't get free email tickets.
I would email back and tell them where to shove that play coupon.
__________________
For Free Money, Poker Gifts and Rakeback I recommend PokerSourceOnline.
I have to recommend Cardrunners for superb poker coaching. It was honestly the single biggest improvement in my game signing up there! Sign-up fee might seem steep, but it pays itself back within weeks.
|

05-21-2007, 10:43 AM
|
 |
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 6,497
Limits Played: $0.50-$1 NL
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by yegch
That is a little strange. Do you even play the online lotteries in the UK?
|
You can play online, but you sign up to the lotto site or something and get an account with them.
__________________
For Free Money, Poker Gifts and Rakeback I recommend PokerSourceOnline.
I have to recommend Cardrunners for superb poker coaching. It was honestly the single biggest improvement in my game signing up there! Sign-up fee might seem steep, but it pays itself back within weeks.
|

05-21-2007, 10:48 AM
|
 |
Poker Hustler
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,191
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidab157
You can play online, but you sign up to the lotto site or something and get an account with them.
|
I think that is soo crooked. So these people can buy lottery tickets online with credit cards? What if they have insufficient funds? How is that regulated?
|

05-21-2007, 10:51 AM
|
 |
Poker Hustler
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: OHIO
Posts: 819
|
|
I don't even open emails unless it is from someone I know.
|

05-21-2007, 10:58 AM
|
 |
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 6,497
Limits Played: $0.50-$1 NL
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by yegch
I think that is soo crooked. So these people can buy lottery tickets online with credit cards? What if they have insufficient funds? How is that regulated?
|
It's just like any sportsbook site really. They've got all sorts of casino type games going on as well and it's damn easy to fire your money in.
__________________
For Free Money, Poker Gifts and Rakeback I recommend PokerSourceOnline.
I have to recommend Cardrunners for superb poker coaching. It was honestly the single biggest improvement in my game signing up there! Sign-up fee might seem steep, but it pays itself back within weeks.
|

05-21-2007, 11:00 AM
|
 |
Poker Hustler
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,191
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidab157
It's just like any sportsbook site really. They've got all sorts of casino type games going on as well and it's damn easy to fire your money in.
|
That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. The internet just feeds the needs to degens all over the world. Yippeee? 
|

05-21-2007, 11:34 AM
|
|
Banned
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,991
|
|
I get those african scams like every other day on my junk email account, they caught some of them in a dateline special once.
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:15 PM.
|
 |
|